Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

RANGER CREW® XP 1000 EPS NorthStar Edition Reviews

2021 RANGER CREW XP 1000 NorthStar Premium Burgundy Metallic is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 883.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from needs attention to detail this is my third ranger sense 2015(570 crew,bought my father a 570 midsize)i now have a XP 1000 Northstar,I am happy with the machine for the most part but do have some complaints,for the cost of this machine there should be a little more attention to detail.dust in the cab,I am slowly plugging holes left open through out the interior,also adding seals to the compartments under rear seat,bad vibration at 20-25 miles per hour,a/c needs an electric fan in front of condenser,also mud protection at rear cab area under bed,that would make this machine untouchable in the market.
Date published: 2020-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great new interior!!! Owned this for about 3 mos and it’s exactly as promised. Best UTV on the market. Only complaint is the shift column is a little tricky. Chain slips if you don’t make sure you “jam” it in high. Ride is exceptional. New stabilizers and body style is well worth the price tag. Most in cabin room on the market, has cup holders for every passenger (which is a big deal!). Only thing I would change is I wish Polaris would offer a longer term on their warranty. Never had a problem on any of my old rides, but there is just a good feeling that the manufacturer would stand behind you longer than the 6 mos (which is nothing).
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Air conditioning only good experience so far Had mine 3 months never abused only used to check cows and travel around the farm one problem after another just to find out nothing is really covered under warranty
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2021 Ranger Crew XP1000 Love our Ranger!! Would change a few things like the mesh doors and would have got heat and air. The only problem I see so far is the nozzle and placement of the windshield wiper fluid. Nozzle has 2 holes the fluid comes out and only one squirts on the windshield, the other in mid air. We tried to adjust but it just doesn't adjust to where both streams hit the windshield so we just plugged one of the holes up. This is our second Polaris and we love it even more than our first one. It is super handy and we have it equipped so that we can drive it on the county roads to our different pastures.
Date published: 2021-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate I would of thought that for the amount of money, it would have a little better quality in the doors and trim, I also think there should be a great quality sound system already in the ultimate rides I enjoy the ride and believe it will last awhile.
Date published: 2022-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst thing I ever purchased AC will not cool the cab,The roof leaked, Dust came in the cab. The AC quit working three different times in a month. I owned this for a month and my dealer gave me my money back luckily
Date published: 2020-09-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this in the winter, and it worked well for a few weeks, then loss power and error said due to belt slippage. It's been in service for over 2 weeks and the dealer says it has happened many times and Polaris is not taking responsibility for the warranty. If they fix it with OEM parts, it cancels the warranty, and yet, Polaris has not found a permanent solution. Spent plenty on this vehicle and it is not working?! Disappointed to say the least.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ranger xp1000 We purchased our ranger 2/28/2020 after which is has had a Ecu recall no big deal took about 30 minutes for dealer take care of . After we got home the clutch hung up so it wouldn’t not completely stop. After 4 weeks at dealer we got it back rode 15 miles engine light came on machine went in to limp mode. Gas pedal Wiring at the connection clip shorted out 1 week at dealer to replace part. The whole family enjoys our ranger when we get to ride it .
Date published: 2020-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a good product Not happy, shifts hard, 2 times in for warranty work and still having problems. Owned for 2 months. Not happy.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nickel and dime I paid an exorbitant amount for a machine that was supposed to have all the bells and whistles and the website says that the dash speakers are stock on my vehicle. When I contacted the dealer, they contacted Polaris. Polaris said the website is wrong and I have to pay to buy the speakers and then pay to have them installed. A friend bought the same exact machine a month earlier and his came with the dash speakers. After speaking with customer service personally they made good and gave me a credit to purchase the speakers.
Date published: 2020-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good ideas! cheaply put together I have owned it for around 3 months. Came with a bad AC fitting after 3 times in the shop it was finally fixed. After about 200 miles there is a clunking noise in the front driver side when you turn. Dealers can’t find where it’s coming from. Leaks water through the roof and windshield whipper box. Super loud inside the cab from engine noise. Very expensive to have this many issues and nobody at Polaris really seems to care.
Date published: 2020-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth, Quiet Ride I've owned a Kawasaki Teryx and several Yamaha ATVs and UTVs. This is my first Polaris and I'm very happy I made the switch. My Ranger XP 1000 Crew is the perfect combination of comfort and power. The 82hp engine allows the whole family along with all of our gear to pile in and hit the trails. The smooth suspension and quiet cab allow for normal conversation or cranking up the tunes on any terrain. We love it!
Date published: 2020-11-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Bought a new ranger a few months ago. One of the CV axles broke whole turning around in the yard causing the rearend to blow out. Took it to get it fixed and now the cv axle won't stay in the rearend and there is a horrible popping noise in the rearend now
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remarkable machine I take my dogs into the field every day for exercise and training. They love the Ranger as much as I do. It's low noise level, safety features, stability, power and economy are excellent. We go to different places including a deserted golf course, a freshwater beach, wooded areas and open fields. The ride is perfect. The Ranger is simply a fantastically engineered vehicle. And now that I have my roof, flip down glass windshield and built in blue tooth radio this is "PIMP MY RIDE" pride. My grandkids are in awe when we ride around and they get to listen to their favorite tunes.
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Polaris Ranger Northstar Ultimate Poor Quality I use my machine mostly for recreational activities. After157 miles the carrier beating on the driveshaft seized up! The side axel housing leaked grease from day 1 and the roof leaks badly every time it rains
Date published: 2021-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from its been a great machine Its been a great machine and has done everything I wanted it to do ,but there is always a few things that need attention , I am in sales and always appreciate feed back on the products I sell Cab is louder than I expected. I have quieted it down by 50% Battery cable was loose Door weather stripping needs to be glued , come off when iced up Blower fan heater is to loud , plenty of air movement just to loud Windows work there way down A net catch all behind the front seat would be nice, everything you put on the seat ends up on the rear floor I had a 900 regular cab for one year put 3600 miles on it have 1500 on this one since December 15th could use more HP Most of the miles have been with tracks riding in below zero temps , I insulated the vents to the rear huge difference
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine! I bought my Polaris Crew a few months ago and have really enjoyed using it to go camping and to elk hunting camp. The roads are difficult and strewn with large rocks. I put a 3" lift and 30" tires on the vehicle and have little issues with navigating the roads. The dust-free cab has been great and I have enjoyed the heated and air-conditioned cab as well. Nice rig!
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth Ride This is our 3rd Ranger and have enjoyed them all but this new redesign really improves the overall ride beginning with how the vehicle take off. This one doesn't seem to lurch as much as the older models. The engine is moved to the back of buggy instead of being under the seat so you don't get the noise and heat and you can have a conversation while driving.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lots of fun I trade in a 2019 North star crew with 4000 mi . I had differential issues in the front and rear new roof, three clutch replacements, Polaris took care of all of these issues but with the warranty ending I either had to buy an extended warranty or trade for a new one . The price that I ended up trading for didn't justify buying a warranty and having a two year old machine with a lot of miles. Purchased the 2020 with ride command , cab seems a little tighter , wish list would be , delay wiper, more horse power { just seems a little flat ,so did the 2019} better radio antenna.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONLY MACHINE ON THE MARKET TOO ME IVE TRYED THEM A this is the best on the market ive had several Polaris side by sides
Date published: 2020-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3month old unit with blown motor I purchased in July 2020 after driving 6hours to find a Polaris. After having the first service completed at Polaris service center the motor blew. We then had to drive over an hour and half to takento repair shop. now awaiting repair and to find out if Polaris will replace the unit/motor/ or reimbursement for cost of first service.
Date published: 2020-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed!! This is our second Polaris! We only had it a couple weeks! Something happened to the tire while I was driving it and it jerked me! Polaris is denying to fix it saying it’s not their fault! I will NEVER buy another Polaris since they can’t fix something that was their fault!!!! Very disappointed!!!!!
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine I use the Ranger a few days of the week on a farm. Overall it’s a good machine. I replaced the original headlights with LED right away, huge improvement. While driving and RPMs reach 4,200 there is a definite rattle that comes from the exhaust. Haven’t pinpointed it yet but I’ve read forums where others have the same problem. Had to take it back to dealer to replace a malfunctioning seatbelt which was covered under warranty. The machine looks and feels to be a solid build and is designed very well. The power is plenty for what I need and it rides and handles great!
Date published: 2020-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Marginal Machine The machine is ok. Customer service from corporate is terrible. I bought it for work because it had the biggest engine in it's class but it's still sluggish and lags on acceleration. Accessories are overpriced. I probably wouldn't buy this machine from Polaris if I had to do it over.
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect UTV This is the 3rd Ranger we have owned over a 20 year span. They make the invstment in engineering and continue to improve on all aspects of the product they build. Their website is phenominal. Lets you build the unit right on the site and see the results instantly. Great job.
Date published: 2020-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great side by side ! I had a couple of warrantee issues that were repaired but overall I really like my XP1000 crew. I am a ranch owner and it is my work horse used to do most all the daily chores. I also have a guide service and use it for carrying hunters and gear and transporting game.
Date published: 2020-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You have a Few things to work on!! I now have 200 miles on the ranger---Please work on the shifting, its very primitive & cumbersome. The front seat should be able to recline just slightly!! Cab noise is a little excessive. I love the front windshield washing system!! I use it all the time with the mud while hunting----you need to get the mud/dirt so it get to the bottom of the windshield or past the field of view looking out of the passenger side. These should be easy important fixes for the designers/ engineers at Polaris. A Great machine that needs some polishing in a few small areas.
Date published: 2019-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features My wife and I bought our ranger in September 2019 and have only one complaint. Dust control, but that is part of it so it’s not that big of a deal for us. It does everything we need and more. looks to be built very well and should last us for many years to come
Date published: 2019-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handles great! Love my new ride. It handles better than my Mule but it is not as smooth a ride. Sits better than mule. Very happy with it over all. I hate the canvas doors. Wish it had half hard doors. They are much safer and keep the dust out better.
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love & Hate Relationship I really like the looks. Seats are great. Decent power, although I might have expected more. This is my first crew and the length takes some getting used to, but it's growing on me. I put front and rear glass in it and am very disappointed in the amount of dust that swirls around in the cab. I see doors in my future. Also disappointed in the shifting. It is not easy to shift, especially into high and also pops out of gear on occasion.
Date published: 2020-06-01
  • y_2022, m_1, d_14, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_883
  • loc_en_US, sid_R21RSU99AW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

* Manufacturer’s suggested retail price (CAD) subject to change. The CAD is subject to a potential maximum increase of 5% for pre-ordered vehicles that ship after March 31, 2022. CAD also excludes destination and handling fees, tax, title, license and registration. Dealer prices may vary.

All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2021 Polaris Inc.