Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

RANGER® EV Reviews

2019 RANGER EV AVALANCHE GRAY is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid stable ride Got a side-by-side with the small cargo bed. Perfect for harvesting pumpkins, hauling work materials, etc. in areas I don't want to trample with a larger vehicle. The EV aspect is great! One less IC engine to maintain, and in my area the electric power includes a lot of hydro and renewable sources. Once I get my own solar up, it will be nearly free to drive.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Polaris makes an electric UTV I bought the Ranger EV 3 months ago. There was only 3 in the state of Texas. I went to Houston. It was well worth it. This UTV is perfect for use in my Rv park and checking fence on the ranch in the back. Lots of grease zerts for maintenance and frame is well designed for access to batteries. No more concerns with air filters, fuel filters, oil filters, gas cans sitting around or gas going stale. I can say after getting the suspension lubed this machine is super stealth. I ride up on tenants without them hearing me coming. I ride through the woods and see way more wild life, the 4 legged kind. I use it every day. It has over 60 hours now in 3 months. I put in on the charger at 35% about every 10 days or 3 times a month. Plug it in at 9pm and it is ready to deploy by 6-7am. I have shown it to lots of people. Polaris should send me a commission.
Date published: 2019-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Polaris EV So far my EV has done as asked. I enjoy sneaking through our woods as quiet as the tires rolling. I have hauled 300# of corn in the back with 2 fat guys up front and mission accomplished. There is a lot of spots that will collect mud and that concerns me..I am worried about carrying the charger on board and it constantly getting wet but we will see.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is comfortable ride, but clunky I've had my EV 9 months. it squeeze in the drive train sometimes. it has a slight clunk occasionally. putting it into reverse for a few feet, usually correct the clunky drive. the tires are not very aggressive, so muddy hills are sometimes not possible. the ride is great! seating and storage are good. Lights are too bright, it would be nice to have dimmers or red light alternatives. Also have some control over the rear lights being on all the time the key is on. This is a hunting vehicle!!, lights are not generally good.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Machine I bought it about 8 months ago and I have not been disappointed. The battery life is very long and it has lots of power. I would have rated it 5 stars except it is noisier in 4 wheel drive. It is very quiet in two wheel drive, but makes a grinding noise in 4 wheel drive. Deal said it is a common noise that will not affect performance, but I have not owned it long enough to know for sure.
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Plenty of power I enjoy the ease of using my electric polaris but I absolutely dislike having to expose the engine by opening the hood to charge the batteries. Which also puts the hood in danger of cracking. The hardship of filling the batteries with water is a total design flaw.
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use it daily We are an Electric Utility and try to use EV units when we can. We purchased the Ranger EV as part of our EV commitment to the community and planet. So far the Ranger has performed as expected with no issues. It is fun to drive and we are looking to purchase additional units in 2020.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great handling and ride! Very good range between charges. Would be 5 stars except when trailering the wind blows the seats up. The plastic storage trays were lost. Poor latch system.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good reliable machine Good reliable machine. I would like to have the batteries easier to service and less gearbox noise.
Date published: 2019-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Ranger EV! We bought this so that my husband would have an easier time getting around our property. He needed both knees replaced and couldn't walk well. This is one of the best things that we have ever bought. It helps us out a lot. We do not go off roading, just around our property.
Date published: 2019-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I imagined. I upgraded from an ATV to the Ranger EV to pull a field mower and run gear around my acreage and couldn't be happier. Because I have to drive it slowly when mowing I added an after market power steering unit. I wish it was a Polaris option feature.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Shelf I charge it once a month and use it for hours daily. Quiet, powerful, no exhaust smell and sometimes I go slow, not any issues.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low Maintenance I bought our EV Polaris early August 2019. Simply plug into a 110 outlet every 4 weeks. No gas, or other maintenance
Date published: 2019-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Reliability The controller unit went out after only 3 months and it took over two months to get the replacement part. It would have been much longer had Mountain Motor Sports not found the part on their own. Now after having it back for less then 2 weeks it went out again.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from powerful for electric The big problem is there to many open crevices and opening that get mud in there. The bed has honey cones under it that just cant get cleaned.There must be something done about the design or panels that need to be added.
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine Have had the machine 4 months and love it! Use it mainly for hog hunting at night been a tremendous asset.
Date published: 2018-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great power and utility, mediocre fit and finish I bought this sight unseen during the current pandemic, based on many online reviews and videos. The electric power is amazing and is the reason I chose this vehicle. I use it for many jobs around our ten acre property and have been amazed at how useful and powerful it is. The ride is great and no emissions or engine noise is just wonderful. I only need to charge it once a week and even then it's still at three-quarters fully charged or so. I use it daily. The dump bed is very effective and can dump a full 500 lb load easily. Dislikes: the mechanical quality is great (although the turning circle is very large!) and it's well built but the cabin quality is very poor. The switches are cheap and look like something from the seventies. The plastic panel holding the charging indicator and the headlight switch is roughly cut, fits poorly, rattles, and appears to be held in place with drywall screws, one in each corner. There is no odometer or speedometer so I had to add an inexpensive unit I purchased on amazon and required only power (gps operated) - come on Polaris, why so cheap to leave this off? The charging is too aggressive and causes battery boil over so I had to change the algorithm (found it online) to slow the charging. Another cheap-out is the lack of a charging outlet. To charge you have to open the hood and fish out a power cord to plug into your extension cord. I replaced this cheap approach with a panel mounted male power connector which I can easily and safely plug into. Also, the manual is just the gas ranger manual and most of it doesn't apply. There is no detail in the manual on the specifics of the ev model (for example, the charging algorithm, when to charge, how low to run the battery, etc) . Very poor. I would recommend the purchase and I like the utility of the vehicle but I expect more for the high price of the electric version.
Date published: 2020-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love not using fossil fuels! We power this electric utility vehicle with one of our photovoltaic solar systems and pat ourselves on the back for not further polluting this precious planet to accomplish chores around our 40 acre farm. We encourage others to purchase electric vehicles!
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Over all good vehicle We have 13 of them in service at our industrial facility. They are over all doing good. The only concerns we have are the brakes don't last well at all and the batteries need replaced every year or so on the units we run the most. (24 hour a day operation)
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Someone got it right Best all around utv that I’ve ever had! If you want a quite 4-4 to get you to your hunting spot, get a Polaris EV! I’ve tried serveral!
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quiet, versatile, and strong, this vehicle is it! I am in love with this Ranger EV! It will haul anything, including a trailer full of a cord of oak. It will sneak up on varmints or deer. It goes nearly everywhere.
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2018 RangerEV Great UFC but back right rear suspension squeaks like crazy...dealer said no cure.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should of bought this cart a long time ago I started with a golf cart 8 years ago. Then owned a Bad Boy Buggie for 5 years. I bought the EV about 4 months ago. No comparison!! What is amazing is how far you can go on a single charge. And that was my biggest worry. The high speed gear is great as well as the low speed gear for creeks and ravines. I use it for pig hunting and not spooking deer.
Date published: 2020-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ranger EV We purchased this EV after reading reviews and comparing the other brands. We had a couple issues early on, but our dealer took care of those right away and have been very pleased since. I was concerned about run time in the cold weather, but we never had any problems. The EV has a lot of power when you engage the 4WD and low range.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome ride! Owned for 6 months and wanted to give it 5 stars, but it does have some areas to improve. Powertrain is 5 stars, ride is 5 stars, small rattles on the dump bed 3 stars. All the small rattles can be fixed by any mechanical owner. Would buy another one today!!!!
Date published: 2020-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I bought this this spring and I am very happy with the vehicle
Date published: 2019-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love our EV The County offered a 75% rebate so couldn’t add it up. Great little rig so far quiet and plenty of power and range on the farm.
Date published: 2019-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Very happy with the machine. Bought in June this year
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for property work, visiting neighbors I have 6 acres by the sea and I needed a utility to clear trails, haul wood, move tools and toys, run the garbage up and water the plants. I charge it once a month, I move everything in it, it goes through, up and over anything. I love it!!!!!!!
Date published: 2020-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great range and hard working I was worried how the ev part of it would go because I’ve always has normal gas ones. But it’s great it has lots of power to drag trees or whatever you find the need to do
Date published: 2020-03-12
  • y_2020, m_9, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_R19RMAE4G8, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2020 Polaris Inc.