Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

RANGER® CREW 1000 Reviews

2022 RANGER CREW 1000 Sagebrush Green is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 173.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine over all Bought machine in early March. Have 30 hrs and about 200 miles on it. Good cross section of working around yard, riding the kids around he neighborhood and working on a 3400 hunting property. The Good: rides great, plenty of power, very comfortable. The OK: it creaks like an old truck sometimes, has a ‘tick’ that comes and goes (like a thin piece of metal on metal sound) and the engine has a little vibration around the 4500 rpm mark (in either high or low). Being overly picky: there is some sticker residue on it from the factory and a couple of bolts were loose on dealership delivery that I noticed after it came home. Again this is me being picky. The Bad: the cost of ‘accessories’. Holy cow the cost of the accessories is ridiculous. All in all this is a good machine.
Date published: 2020-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ride for trails and the deer lease Great ride. May have issue with power steering when turning to the left “pulsates very slightly smooth to the right” may be normal but not sure. Would give 5 stars but 4 for this reason. Plus accessories are pricey and I have a hole in rear seat underneath. Have not heard back from dealer. Just put tape over it. But enough for those small details, overall the ride is smooth and it’s a very capable machine. Given some time I could go to 5 stars but need time to see if these things are normal or not.
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from “Poor” doesn’t even begin to describe it My Ranger has been out of service for 2.5+ months, out of the 4 I have owned it. At the dealer for the second time (has been down since July 24th), and they cannot diagnose it, replace it, or give me my money back (apparently)...
Date published: 2020-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect blend for work and play we use our ranger crew nearly every day , hauling trash getting mail , plowing our drive hauling wood and just cruising with the grandkids.
Date published: 2021-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ultimate hunting rig Used my ranger for hunting. Lasted one hunt been in the shop since. Paying for something that's In the shop more than the mountains.
Date published: 2021-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This thing is a beast! We use this every day in one capacity or another. Between farming activities, people transport and flat out rec riding, we almost need a signup list. Room for 6 adults, great cargo area, super fast (almost too fast for the farm). Came with soft side doors that attached with a stainless steel bar in a slot at the bottom and plastic buckles at the top. If you rode with them open, there was no way to secure them so the bar would catch the ground on uneven surfaces. Ended up ripping the drivers side door off so we just removed them completely. The tailgate is too light weight and comes out of it's slot making it difficult to shut securely. For those two reasons, I took a star off but, honestly, that's maybe a half a star. Otherwise, this thing is a beast. It's so large in fact, it almost needs a back up cam!
Date published: 2020-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad investment waste money belts driven sucks to heavy gets stuck belt ripps
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not impressed I use my ranger for a little bit of mild off roading and for work around the house the wench is poor quality; already appears to be fraying, and gets tangled all the time I have brought my machine back to the dealer to fix a tranmission and clutch issue ( it wasnt catching gears ) and now it clunks whenever put into gear and accelerating would like that fixed; but im guessing I know the answer is that it is normal
Date published: 2021-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our lake runner We got our Ranger Crew to keep at our lake house, and it’s the perfect runabout. Our house is about 800 ft above the lake where our boat dock is and the road down to the lake is a bunch of hairpin switchbacks. We can load the Range up with boating stuff and boaters and it just works it’s heart out. Since we’re in the mountains, it’s obviously also great for off-roading those rocky uphill trails thru the forest.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not any better than the others I don't use as much as I would like or as much as my old one still waiting on roof that was ordered 3 months ago it is not comfortable to have seats wet or snow covered I would have bought the other brand that came with a roof had I known the non availability of accessories still waiting and using my 4wheeler more while this sets in garage also way to much plastic ,bed is damaged on first time out to work
Date published: 2021-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have 2 improvement comments I think the low range is to low of a gear ratio. I also have 2012 Polaris crew 800 and use it in low range mostly but find the new 1000 is to low to use so have to run it high range most of the time. I don't like the factory top on the 2020 it to short on the front rain runs down on the instrument panel and the drivers lap. the 2012 top extended farther out keeping you dryer in light rains.
Date published: 2020-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine! We bought this to have up at our cabin and it is a great machine. Works wonderfully however, I am so glad I bought one brand new with a warranty. We did everything the manual said to break it in, drove normally for over 20 hours and the check engine light came on and was throwing codes for a bad belt. How can a belt go bad if it's barely driven?? We are taking it in to get looked at.
Date published: 2020-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great farm vehicle Not many days go by that I don’t use my rancher. Whether it’s to check the mail or to check on cows. It’s a handy machine to have! My only draw back is I think they should come with a roof and windshield as “standard”. Also the way you have to put the ranger in gear is awkward to me. Most time park is up and you have to pull down to low or high but it’s opposite on the ranger.
Date published: 2021-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all round machine for work and play We use our 2021 Ranger Crew 1000 Premium mainly in the summers that we spend in Alaska. Particularly love the space in the cabin, the solid doors, glass windshields and windshield wiper. It is a go anywhere vehicle for us with the capability to haul materials, firewood around our properties. Easily accommodates 5 of us when necessary, with ample power and torque.
Date published: 2021-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hunting and working on the land. Great for duck hunting. We load it down regularly with 6 people, 1 dog, 2 dozen decoys, and hunting gear for 6, then we drive it through some of the nastiest terrain you can find, and it never skips a beat. Might not be recommended but when the creeks overflow, we don't turn around, we just go straight through. The Ranger is a (Must-Have) accessory for hunting.
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Family and Work Friendly The ranger rides better than I expected and is roomy. The biggest thing I do not care for is when changing from park to reverse or forward or any gear for that matter, it shifts hard. Also, I wish the doors were more user friendly for the price of this unit. They should be hinged and easier to fasten. All in all, it is fun, useful, and does what is needed.
Date published: 2021-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ranger 1000 crew 2021 I use ranger on farm and riding with wife and friends. One or two flaws I don’t like is the gear shift selection. It’s hard to put in high gear . It’s almost like there’s not enough clearance in dash. Another is the windshield I received from factory rattles and gets aggravating listening to it. Other than that I enjoy the ranger it’s a big help on farm.
Date published: 2021-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Performance! Purchased in June. Took Ranger to Colorado in August and Ranger did great on mountain trails. I’ve used it to work cattle back in Illinois. It’s pick up speed as well as traction and balance were great! Our first time trail riding with friends we had a “winching” good time as I had to use my winch to pull him out. (My friend has another make UTV ;-)
Date published: 2020-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great off-road vehicle We bought our 2020 Ranger 1000 Crew a couple of months ago to replace a 2010 Ranger 800 Crew that had a blown transmission. We love the new Ranger, which is a big improvement over the old one. The electronic power steering with a reduced steering radius makes maneuvering much easier. The increased power is significant, the ride is very smooth.
Date published: 2020-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Premium is not the XP Speaking to the salesman where I bought my unit I thought I was purchasing the XP unit however what I received was the premium unit. I’m disappointed the unit I have is a single overhead cam where the XP unit is the double overhead cam with more horsepower. Don’t get me wrong this is a very nice unit just not what I thought I was purchasing.
Date published: 2021-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workhorse I use my Ranger every day. We love the comfortable ride around the farm, ease of use, and off-road capability. Its a true 6 seater. We recently went trail riding and had 2 kids and 4 adults along for the ride and never got stuck or missed a beat. Overall, the unit is in my opinion, a true display of a fully capable work and play UTV.
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Beach Buggy I live in a golf cart community and opted to get a ranger instead of a golf cart. I 70 years old and love to fish but couldn’t carry all my gear out to the water due to medical issues. Now I just load up the Ranger with my gear and drive to the fish! Awesome thing for an old man who loves the ocean.
Date published: 2021-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad Azz machine my 2020 ranger crew 1000 has been so far the toughest machine , im out in the woods out doing most other side by sides, the crew pulls better than the others. Ive pulled out other side by sides with ease. i also can pretty much do and go any were the others do alot easier in most cases that they do
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from brand i have had a few different models of ranger for the last 15 years and over all this is the one i wish i never bought. it only has about 35 miles on it and already i am hearing metat to metal somewhere in front diff or trans but no dealer seams to want to take it in and find out what the problem is.
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth & Quiet Ride The 2020 Ranger Crew 1000 that I purchased runs well most of the time. The one big complaint that I have is that it is difficult to shift into High gear. It grinds and I have to move the gear shift up & down to get it to engage. There have been times that it will pop out of High gear when driving.
Date published: 2020-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ultimate Recreational Vehicle Bought the Ranger for my grandchildren to ride around the ranch, they love the Ranger, everyone wants to drive. i have 2 Hondas but the number one choice is the Ranger. lots of room, smoother ride and plenty of power, and I get to drive the Ranger once in a while. .we are pleased with the Ranger
Date published: 2021-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does everything I need it to! When working around the property the Ranger has done everything I need from hauling water around to bringing loads of rock and wood all around! Also with the 6 person capacity if we want to take off down to the river there is plenty of space for us and what ever we want to take with us!
Date published: 2021-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome machine I chose this model for the gearing. I wanted it to work and pull bigger tires. Its still stock and rides like a dream. Love the low gearing in low range. This premium model is just right for both work and play. Love the dependability so far. Thanks for an all around awesome machine.
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for family We live in a small lake community and this is perfect for our family of 5 to load up with gear to take to the beach for a day or fun or just to ride around the neighborhood. Looking forward to having it with the winch to help take the boats out of the water this fall.
Date published: 2021-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Workhorse of a machine, reliable,tough I use my Ranger extensively on our ranch. I could not get around without it. I just wish I could get the rear glass that I purchased at the time I bought the machine. It's been 5 months and it's still on backorder. That's the only reason I'm giving this 3 stars.
Date published: 2021-05-08
  • y_2022, m_1, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_173
  • loc_en_US, sid_R22T6A99A1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 110ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

* Manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP) subject to change. The MSRP is subject to a potential maximum increase of 5% for pre-ordered vehicles that ship after March 31, 2022. MSRP also excludes destination and handling fees, tax, title, license and registration. Dealer prices may vary.

All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2021 Polaris Inc.